Visit these sites to find great books to read.

Batchelder Award
This award, established in 1966, is a citation awarded to an American publisher for a children's book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originally published in a foreign language in a foreign country, and subsequently translated into English and published in the United States.

Belpre Award
The Pura Belpr?Award, established in 1996, is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino culturalexperience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

BookHive is a web site designed by the Public Library of Charlotte-Mecklenburg County (Charlotte, NC) for children ages birth through twelve, their parents, teachers or anyone interested in reading about children's books.

Caldecott Award Winners
This medal is given to the artist who has created the most distinguished picture book of the year and is named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph J. Caldecott.

Children's Book Council
The Children's Book Council is a non-profit trade organization dedicated to encouraging literacy and the use and enjoyment of children's books. It is the official sponsor of Young People's Poetry Week and Children's Book Week each year. The Council's members include U.S. publishers and packagers of trade books for children and young adults.

Childrens? Notable Books Lists
Each year the Association for Library Service to Children, a specialized division of the American Library Association, identifies the best of the best in children's books, recordings, videos, and computer software.

Top of Page

Laura Ingalls Wilder Medal
Administered by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award was first given to its namesake in 1954. The award, a bronze medal, honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Massachusetts Children's Book Award
Designed for students in grades 4-6, the Massachusetts Children's Book Award program was established in 1975 after the award founder, Dr. Helen Constant, observed that once having learned to read, many children lose interest in books when they reach the intermediate grades.

Newbery Medal Winners
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Sibert Award
The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award, established by the Association for Library Service to Children in 2001, is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year.

Top of Page